Our Golfing season is all set to go for 2024. The good news is we were able to get Waterville again into our calendar for 2024. Please take note of the arrangements for the Waterville outing further down the letter. Also we will leave our golf membership at €30.00 for the year. So we look forward to a wonderful and enjoyable 2024 golfing year. Leading the Golf Society in 2024 is Captain Maurice O'Donoghue and President Colm Galvin.

Captain: Maurice (Mushy) O'Donoghue

This years Captain is Maurice O'Donoghue, affectionately known as Mushy. Maurice is a long time sponsor, avid supporter and former player of the Crokes club. He has played in many teams over the years and was always known as a very sticky defender. He also has coached many teams especially at underage level for the club. Maurice comes from a family steeped in Dr Crokes history. Maurice is very honoured to be chosen as the Captain of the society for 2024 and thanks John Lynch for bestowing the privilege on him. He wishes every member well for the 2024 golf season ahead. He also would like to thank all the previous Captains and Presidents and all the committees that make the Dr. Crokes Society such a wonderful society to be part of. 

President: Colm Galvin

The President of the Society for 2024 is Colm Galvin and we wish Colm well in his year ahead. Colm is a lifelong black and amber member and supporter. A superb player who mainly played in the full forward line and fooled many with his wonderful leap. He scored 3-1 in the first ever U12 County Competition. He scored 4 goals withKillarney in the U21 County Final. Colm has won at all levels with Dr. Crokes. He played basketball with St. Vincents National League team and also played upfront for Killarney Athletic. He now has carried his love of sport onto the fairways where he is a great supporter of the society. Colm is married to Mairead and they have four children, Denis, Emma, Laura and Elaine. They all have donned the black and amber jersey at different levels.


Membership of the society will be €30.00 and Club membership is €60 and must be paid in order to be a member of the society. There is also the Clear Air Boys membership which is a very important initiative for the club. The Clear Air Boys membership pays for the upgrade of the club house and grounds i.e. gym, storage shed and scoreboard to mention a few. The fee for this is €100. There is a link attached below to link into the club force app to pay the Club memberships etc. As the club depends on membership, we would appeal to you to pay this as soon as you can. Please also note that the society is open for new members of the Golf Society. Contact committee with any new members.

Membership link: https:/

Fixtures 2024:

  • March 22nd Waterville Tee Time - 11.00 am – 12.50 am (Friday)
  • April 20th Dooks Tee Time 11.00 am - 12.40 pm
  • June 28th Killeen Tee Time 1.00 pm - 3.30 pm (Friday)
  • August 24th Kenmare Tee Time 9.30am - 11 .30 am
  • September 21st Dingle Tee Time 10.50am - 12.50 pm
  • October 19th Mahony’s Point Tee Time 10.20am – 12.50 pm (Note New Date)


Timesheets will be in operation as usual. Please e-mail or text Ger O'Shea ( or 087 2316068. Please do not include your name if you are doubtful about travelling as members will be disqualified for the next outing if they fail to show on the day. Timesheets, results and news will be on our Facebook page also. Waterville outing Friday 22nd March 2024. Our first outing will be in Waterville on Friday 22th March 2024. We are very pleased to have received tee times (11.00am –12.50pm) to play Waterville. The cost of the day for golf will be €70.00. As we have limited times we will require members to have the outing and membership paid for in advance. Those interested in playing the outing please pay €100.00 (€70.00 for outing and €30.00 for membership) to Vince Casey or Keith McMahon (Revolut) before Saturday 9th March 2024. 


We would like to thank our sponsors and ask you to support them throughout the year especially in these very challenging times.

  • Speakeasy Bar 
  • Vincent Casey
  • Mike Buckley 
  • Eoin Brosnan
  • Brendan Keogh 
  • Tatler Jack
  • Scotts Hotel

We have 2 Perpetual Trophies, The Denis Coffey Memorial Trophy and The Maurice O'Donoghue memorial Trophy. These will be presented to the winners at the relevant outing each year. A huge thank you to our outgoing Captain John Lynch and Outgoing President Martin Byrnes for their successful year and we hope they enjoyed their year. We would also thank Frank Shaw for his huge contribution to the Golf Committee over the last few years and wish him well in his new position at Killarney Golf Club. We would also like to welcome our new committee member Wayne McDonald. Wayne is relatively new to the society and the Dr. Crokes Club but he is a very enthusiastic golfer and is married into a strong Dr Crokes Family.Thank you also to the committee for all your hard work to make the society a very successful one. Finally, we wish all our members and families the best of luck in the year ahead and hopefully 2024 will be an enjoyable golfing year for everybody. 

On Behalf of the Committee

Ger O'Shea

087 2316068

Brendan Keogh (Treasurer), Vincent Casey, John O Leary, Keith McMahon and Wayne McDonald

Dr. Crokes Facebook